RSS

Daily Archives: April 3, 2014

50 mile sugar loaf ride with half-mile run

wpid-2014-04-03-15-58-51.png

The steepest hill I’ve ever ridden. Pic doesn’t do it justice.

wpid-20140403_114702.jpg

Free water, but you can donate to a great cause

wpid-20140403_114638.jpg

Nice resident sharing some water to the brave

wpid-20140403_110722.jpg

Turn back now or prepare to battle gravity

wpid-20140403_111707.jpg

Oceanview reward for cycling to the top

wpid-20140403_110815.jpg

Let me take a selfie…LOL

 

A most thrilling adventure bike ride today.  I decided at the last minute to take a left turn instead of going straight like I usually do towards Howey in the Hills. To my surprise, I happened upon the reknown Sugarloaf Mountain Hill!   Let me just tell you, I had already traversed quite a few Hills to even get to this hill.  It’s a pretty intimidating site when you see it for the first time.  Whosoever says Florida is flat, has never been to the Clermont,  Sugarloaf area.

Famous for toppling over many a rider as you churn uphill seemingly forever.   You better be in pretty good cycling shape or you will find yourself walking your bike up this hill.  I found the hill and the residents of the area to be quite supportive of cyclist and runners alike. One resident even fills a water cooler everyday to help tacklers of this mountain.

I originally wanted to ride 60 miles, but due to time contraints and getting quite a good hill workout I decided to just do 50 miles.  While going up the hill was fun, going do the hill was a bit scary.  The steepness of the hill really leaves you no choice but to fly down the hill.  It takes a lot to scare me on a bicycle, but speeding down this hill at a blazing 44 mph with a sizeable crosswind felt almost like a death wish.  My heart was racing a 1000 bpm as I struggled to keep the bike balanced against the wind.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 mile mixed pace run

So today I decided to address my weak areas with specific movements, stretches and exercise.   I focused on my core, knees and hip flexors.   Then I followed this work with a 5 mile run.  I kept the pace at a faster pace and mixed in several sprints and hill climbs.

image

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 3, 2014 in Daily Training Log