RSS

Daily Archives: April 17, 2014

50.2 mile cycling hill leg destroyer

Today I tackled the vaunted Sugarloaf mountain hill route again.  This particular bike route is just taxing hill after hill afer hill.  This time I was on my old Trek Speed Concept bike Zoey as the drop bars on my Fuji D6 are still broken.  The day was twice as windy as the last time I rode the course, but my ride was much more stable.  I had zero fears riding on Zoey, whereas my Fuji left me in many a heart wrenching moments where I felt like the wind was going to capsize me.  At this point, I’m not sure if it is a wheel, handle bars, or bike issue.

On one of the last hills, my legs cramped severly. The cramping was so intense I had to clip out and get off the bike going uphill.  I refused to push my bike all the way up the hill, so i waited until the cramping susided.  I don’t know if you’ve ever had to try to clip back on a bike peddling uphill, but it takes some practice.  After all said and done, I had a great workout.

wpid-20140417_122617.jpg

Let the leg cramping begin

wpid-20140417_114205.jpg

Backside hill on Sugarloaf Mountain

wpid-20140417_111301.jpg

Sugarloaf mountain 1st hill

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 17, 2014 in Daily Training Log

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,